Saturday, 11 February 2017

WhatsApp Tightens security As The Roll Out Two-Factor Authentication

WhatsApp tightens it's security with two-factor authentication which is being rolled out to all users. The security feature has been available in the beta version of the app since last fall, but starting today, anyone with a WhatsApp  account can head to the Settings menu of the app and set up two-step verification.


What is WhatsApp two factor authentication 


WhatsApp two factor authentication is a security which allows for a passcode on the application and adds more security to your WhatsApp account.

"When you have two-step verification enabled, any attempt to verify your phone number on WhatsApp must be accompanied by the six-digit passcode that you created using this feature," the firm said.

To enable two-step verification, open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Two-step verification > Enable.

Upon enabling this feature, you can also optionally enter your email address. This email address will allow WhatsApp to send you a link via email to disable two-step verification in case you ever forget your six-digit passcode, and also to help safeguard your account. We do not verify this email address to confirm its accuracy. We highly recommend you provide an accurate email address so that you're not locked out of your account if you forget your passcode.

Important: If you receive an email to disable two-step verification, but did not request this, do not click on the link. Someone could be attempting to verify your phone number on WhatsApp.


If you have two-step verification enabled, your number will not be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp within 7 days of last using WhatsApp without your passcode. Thus, if you forget your own passcode, but did not provide an email to disable two-step verification, even you will not be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp within 7 days of last using WhatsApp. After these 7 days, your number will be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp without your Passcode , but you will lose all pending messages upon reverifying - they will be deleted. If your number is reverified on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, and without your passcode, your account will be deleted and a new one will be created upon successfully reverifying.

Note To help you remember your passcode, WhatsApp will periodically ask you to enter your passcode. There is no option to disable this without disabling the two-step verification feature.


Post a Comment

Start typing and press Enter to search